So what is exactly going on in Egypt? (My Perspective)

images (2)Violence in Egypt.download (1)

Lately, in the news, there has been a lot of broadcasting on what is happening in Egypt. As a British Citizen, I’m finding it all a bit confusing so I thought I’d do some research…. And I found things which horrified me and shocked me at the same time.

So basically, back in January 2011, The Egyptian people started their revolution against the former President Hosni Mubarak. The reason the Egyptian people rose up against the President was because they were tired of the 30 years that had under him being elected. The people felt failed by their government. The former president was attacked over cases of police brutality and state of emergency laws too. The Egyptian people were fed up of how badly they were being treated and the Revolution was/is focused mostly around political and social issues.

Mubarak was definitely a terrible leader. He supressed any protests and would jail his opponents if they said anything against him. Weirdly, it sounds as similar to McCarthyism in the 1930s where McCarthy would call his opponents ‘sympathisers’.

Well they do say history repeats itself. *wink face*

So after a month of solid protesting in Cairo, Alexandria and other surrounding areas, Hosni Mubarak resigned as President of Egypt and the government stepped in for a while until the General Election took place. After 6 months of the Army running the country, on the 29th of June 2012, Mohammed Morsi from the Muslim Brotherhood was elected into government, becoming the first democratically elected President of Egypt.

Now I’m going to try and explain this part, as I do feel as though I am a bit uneducated but please do correct me if I’m wrong! 🙂

From my understanding, people complained under Morsi because he couldn’t meet the requirements of why people protested in the first place. Furthermore, if I’m right, he was more focused on the fact that he was from the Muslim Brotherhood, than being the President of Egypt. He changed the constitution and decided to draft an entirely new one. By talking to a few Egyptian friends I was told that he planned to make the entire government filled with people from the Muslim Brotherhood, therefore making the government itself quite bias. This is what caused the protest to spark again in June 2013.

Soon enough, on the 3rd of July, Morsi was removed from office by the army after 30 million people protested against him. After this, General Sisi, elected Adly Mansour as the temporary President of Egypt. Ever since then, the Muslim Brotherhood have been protesting peaceful

Egyptian Army

Egyptian forces. No copyright intended

Up until a few weeks ago when the violence started to happen.

The Egyptian Army decided to massacre through the Pro- Morsi camps and kill so many innocent civilians including women and children. I can’t even believe some of the pictures I’ve seen.

A country, that was once so united, is now so broken. It sad to see how many mosques and churches have been burnt down. It’s crazy. I can’t believe it.

I don’t like to take sides in things like these. I find that being mutual can help but I can’t help but feel sorry for the Morsi Supporters. They have been massacred in so many large numbers.

Police Officer kicking innocent civilian

no copyright intended -Police Officer kicking innocent civilian

But if I’m completely honest, I don’t agree with the Egyptian Army at all. What they are doing is not right. I find it hard to believe that you need to kill so many children in order to stop the so called ‘terrorists’. Tell meif I’m wrong, but children are not terrorists. Innocent, innocent blood has been spilled. The once golden streets of Egypt and running crimson red with the blood of women, men and children. Innocent people who were bystanders.

I have one point to make – Why is it that whenever political arguments occur, it’s the innocent who are killed – on both sides. It’s ridiculous. People who can hardly understand why this is happening are being killed. Killed for no reason.
You cannot solve violence with violence. You need to bring peace and unity. I pray tonight that those who are in Egypt are safe and hopefully that this bloodshed can stop so this country can become united once again. I pray that those who have died have managed to find peace and are in Jannah right now. In Sha Allah.

Egyptian riotsdownload (3)download (2)

This was a country that was once united, where Christians and Muslims, stood together, side by side, united. However, we managed to let politics and our own political beliefs poison our minds and our souls.

I pray that Egypt becomes the united country it once was.

Let us all pray that Egypt finds itself again.

Z. x

images (5)

Hopefully we will see Egypt reunited once again!

‘What difference does it make to the dead, the orphans and the homeless, whether the mad destruction is wrought under the name of totalitarianism or the holy name of liberty or democracy?’

Mahatma Gandhi (1869 – 1948)

Leave a Reply

